Wednesday, October 16, 2013

The Mourning Series by Adriane Leigh

MOURNING SERIES by Adriane Leigh

The Mourning After - Released on June 26, 2013
Light In Mourning - Released on October 16, 2013

The Mourning After and Light In Mourning are a two book series.

At the start of The Mourning After, Georgia Montgomery has just made a life changing decision. Without consulting her long time boyfriend Kyle Collins, an up and coming attorney in D.C., she has purchased a beach house on the North Carolina shore. Feeling neglected as a result of Kyle’s long hours at the firm, she decides to take the summer off to renovate the beach house into an income generating summer rental.

In order to do this, she reaches out to her two best friends, Drew and Silas. Drew has been Georgia’s friend since college and works as the accountant for her father’s construction business in Jacksonville. Silas, also a friend from college works as little as possible living off income from an inheritance. Begging them to join her for the summer she agrees to allow Drew to bring her new boyfriend Gavin along.

The beach house situation gets complicated when Gavin’s friend Tristan tags along for the visit. His arrival at the beach house is unexpected and his charm and good looks disarm Georgia. Tristan, however, takes advantage of Georgia’s hospitality and when the frequency of his female overnight guests pushes her to her breaking point, she asks him to stop marching the slut parade through her house.

Nightmares begin to plague Georgia as she deals with her emotions in regards to her past and the distance between her and Kyle. Tristan tries to comfort her through these difficult times and she struggles with her emerging feelings for him. So when a hurricane threatens the coast, the housemates have to evacuate and head to their respective homes.

In Light In Mourning Tristan has returned to North Carolina to retrieve his boat left at the marina near Georgia’s beach house. He feels such a loss with the departure of his new friend and becomes despondent falling into reckless behaviors.

His business partner Gavin. becomes worried about Tristan's decision to live on his boat and try to work remotely with a new customer. Tristan admits he is only going through the motions. When he decides to adopt a dog from a local shelter, he starts to return to his more normal self, without the parade of sluts he enjoyed earlier in the summer.

Meanwhile, Georgia is struggling to readjust to life back in D.C. with Kyle. His long hours at work and her confliction with her decision to leave Tristan behind have the nightmares coming more frequently and vividly. Nothing she tries seems to be able to lessen the frequency or effect of these terrible dreams.

When Georgia receives an expected yet disturbing letter, she has to make some difficult decisions that will affect her for the rest of her life.

We were thrilled to have the opportunity to read these books back to back. Having to wait in between the two would have been brutal as it is very easy to become addicted to both Georgia and Tristan.

Adriane shared some insights on how she took up writing and in the writing of the Mourning series in our interview here.

RMWTPC – How did you decide to pursue a degree in literature? Was it with the idea of becoming an author or were you preparing for a different career?

Adriane Leigh – Writing was the only thing I was ever interested in doing, and I love to read, so it made sense to me to study the classics to learn to write well.

RMWTPC – As a Michigan girl, did you use any of your experiences living near the dunes as inspiration in writing the beautiful beach scenes in these books?

Adriane Leigh – Absolutely! I feel so lucky to have grown up on the Great Lakes. We’ve got the best beaches in the world! No salt and no deadly sea creatures!

RMWTPC – Was your original intent to make Georgia and Tristan’s a two book series or did the story just carry into it?

Adriane Leigh – About halfway through writing The Mourning After I realized that Georgia and Tristan needed a book two. While the first book ended in a good place, I felt like readers would need reassurance that Georgia and Tristan could make it after the turbulence surrounding the beginning of their relationship.

I also wanted to show vulnerability in Tristan- he seemed so confident in book one, but I knew he had insecurities and being in a healthy relationship would be something he would have to work at.

RMWTPC – What can you tell us about your next book Wild, scheduled to be released in December?

Adriane Leigh – Wild has been wild to write to say the least! It takes place on the coast of Maine, which is a place I love and have visited often, and the main character’s name is Lane Wild. He’s a sexy, demanding alpha-male who knows what he wants in life and takes it. The heroine is Kat Kennedy, she’s new to town and is sassy and independent and not interested in being tied down. Chemistry pulses between them, along with irritation, flirtation and friendship; it’s all there and is making for one amusing story!

To enter to win one of three copies of this new release, message us on our facebook page:

Code: Penned Con Rocks

Contest ends on 10/18/13 at 10 p.m.

You can follow Adriane on her blog at:
On facebook at:
And you can purchase her books on:
Amazon at:
Barnes & Noble at:

No comments:

Post a Comment